Key Stage 3


At KS3, we ensure that the students explore a variety of topics.  These are covered through writing, reading and speaking & listening; allowing students to express their ability with these essential skills.  We also aim to promote an interest in the culture of France and other French-speaking countries.

Year 7

Students begin by following a skills based course which shows them how to access the language, increasing their confidence and enjoyment of the subject. They then move on to topic-based learning, where they are able to apply the skills they have learned.

Year 8

Students continue to expand their language knowledge of different topics and further their understanding of French grammar.

Year 9

Students now begin to follow the GCSE French course.  They continue to develop their level of language skills, with the four areas of writing, reading, speaking and listening being of equal importance.


Key Stage 4


Examination board / awarding body: AQA

Why study French?

Languages teach you communication skills and adaptability; they also makes you culturally aware. Languages give you the edge in the job market and are useful when applying to universities in the future. Studying French also offers greater opportunities to travel and work abroad and combines well with virtually any other subject for further study Post-16.



Students will study three different areas: Identity and Culture; Local, National and Global Issues; and Current and Future Study and Employment.

Students will be required to translate from French to English and English to French. Students will also have to communicate in a role-play and discussion on two topics, as well as understanding written French and listening to and understanding spoken French.



Students will be examined in four skills: Listening, Speaking, Reading and Writing – all worth 25% each.  The Speaking exam will be sat internally, but all other examinations will take place in the May of Year 11.  Grades offered will be 9 – 4 for the Higher Tier, and 5 – 1 for the Foundation Tier.



Pin It on Pinterest

Share This